Some foods, like pig and lobster, will never be kosher (unless God Herself speaks from the heavens and declares it so–and even then, there will likely be rabbis who dispute the proclamation).
Other foods, when prepared by Jews, are kosher–but when prepared by non-Jews, are not.
Now, hummus–because of a conflict of opinion about the roasting and shelling of sesame seeds used to make tahini that is often used in hummus recipes—is the latest food to enter this second category, according to a “leading rabbi”:
A former chief rabbi, Mordechai Eliahu, ruled that when sesame seeds used to make the tahini paste for hummus are roasted and shelled by non-Jews, the resulting hummus is not kosher, said the aide, Rabbi David Lahiani…
Meir Micha, chief of the Pinati hummus company, said the publication of the ruling Sunday sent him hurriedly calling all his factories to ensure that the production process was kosher. Micha said he thought Eliahu’s ruling was only due to a dispute between religious camps. Eliahu’s main rival, Rabbi Ovadia Yosef — himself a former chief rabbi — told the Maariv daily flatly that there is no difference between shelled and unshelled sesame seeds, and they’re all kosher.
In the past, competing rabbis have issued differing edicts about kosher food partly to solidify the following for their own certificates of approval.
And we thought fish sticks were the enemy; it was the sesame seeds all along.
“I know it was you, Sesame Seeds. You broke my heart.”