I’ve just learned about this petition from Scholars for Peace in the Middle East. Note that they are not boycotting, merely passively accepting the same burden of the boycotted academics and their institutions in Israel. Feel free to circulate this link. You can find the signatures page here.

Promoting Academic Integrity and Honest Debate

An International Call To Academics and Professionals To Stand In Solidarity With Our Israeli Academic and Professional Colleagues

Written by: Alan Dershowitz, Steven Weinberg, Edward Beck and Members of the SPME Task Force on Countering Academic and Professional Boycotts
June 4, 2007 To: Academics and Professionals Standing In Solidarity With Our Israeli Academic Colleagues Against All Boycott Proposals and Actions

Please Join Us By Signing and Circulating
The Following
Solidarity Statement With Our Israeli Academic and Professional Colleagues

We are academics, scholars, researchers and professionals of differing religious and political perspectives. We all agree that singling out Israelis for an academic boycott is wrong. To show our solidarity with our Israeli academics in this matter, we, the undersigned, hereby declare ourselves to be Israeli academics for purposes of any academic boycott. We will regard ourselves as Israeli academics and decline to participate in any activity from which Israeli academics are excluded.

Alan Dershowitz
Felix Frankfurter Professor of Law
Harvard University

Stanley Deser
Dirac Medal
Ancell Professor of Physics
Brandeis University

Roald Hoffmann
Frant H. T. Rhodes Professor of Humane Letters
Cornell University

Daniel Kahneman
Nobel Prize – Economics
Professor of Psychology
Princeton University

Eric R. Kandel
NobelPrize – Medicine
University Professor
Columbia University

Steven Weinberg
Nobel Prize-Physics
Josey Regental Professor of Science
University of Texas, Austin

Elie Wiesel
Nobel Peace Prize
Andrew W. Mellon Professor in the Humanities
Boston University

(more names below)

Scholars for Peace in the Middle East Task Force on Countering Academic and Professional Boycotts

Paul Appelbaum
Elizabeth K. Dollard Professor of Psychiatry, Medicine & Law
Columbia University

Edward S. Beck
President, Scholars for Peace in the Middle East
Laureate Professor, School of Psychology
Walden University

John R. Cohn
Professor of Medicine
Thomas Jefferson University

Ruth Lichtenberg-Contreras
Vienna Natural History Museum
University of Vienna

Stanley Dubinsky
Associate Dean of the Graduate School
University of South Carolina

Awi Federgruen,
Charles E. Exley Professor of Management; Chair of Decision, Risk and Operations Division,
Columbia University Business School

Lisbeth S. Fried
Visiting Professor
Near Eastern Studies
University of Michigan

Judith S. Jacobson
Associate Professor
Mailman School of Public Health Columbia University

Richard L. Lubman
Associate Professor Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine
University of Southern California School of Medicine

Edward H. Kaplan
William N. and Marie A. Beach Professor of Management Sciences, Professor of Public Health, and Professor of Engineering
Yale University

Ed Morgan
Law Professor
University of Toronto

Joel Pachter
Professor of Pharmacology
University of Connecticut Health Center

Edgar Pick
Director, the Julius Friedrich Cohnheim – Minerva Center
for Phagocyte Research
Head, the Ela Kodesz Institute of Host Defense
against Infectious Diseases
Incumbent, the Roberts-Guthman Chair in
Sackler School of Medicine
Tel Aviv University

Elihu D. Richter
Center for Genocide Studies
Hebrew University-Hadassah, School of Public Health and Community Medicine

Harvey A. Risch
Professor, Chronic Disease Epidemiology
Yale University School of Public Health

Bruce Rubenstein
Clinical Assistant Professor of Psychiatry
New York University School of Medicine

Marius Usher
Professor of Cognitive Psychology |
Birkbeck, University of London

Jeffrey Wielgus
Research Associate, Department of Life Sciences
University of British Columbia

• Visit Scholars For Peace in the Middle East website

About the author


Loading comments...