The Palestinians tried to scuttle this, even as they were demanding from Israel that it shouldn’t take any steps that might be considered offensive, lest they cancel the “proximity” peace talks.

Anyway, Israel was voted into the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development today. Here are the members of the OECD:

First group admitted in 1961:
* Austria
* Belgium
* Canada
* Denmark
* France
* Germany
* Greece
* Iceland
* Ireland
* Italy
* Luxembourg
* Netherlands
* Norway
* Portugal
* Spain
* Sweden
* Switzerland
* Turkey*
* United Kingdom
* United States

Admitted later (listed chronologically with year of admission):

* Japan (1964)
* Finland (1969)
* Australia (1971)
* New Zealand (1973)
* Mexico* (1994)
* Czech Republic (1995)
* Hungary (1996)
* Poland* (1996)
* Republic of Korea (1996)
* Slovakia (2000)
* Chile* (2010)*
* Israel (2010)

The OECD is essentially a club for wealthy nations to come together and facilitate economic interaction. Here is how the organization describes itself:

OECD brings together the governments of countries committed to democracy and the market economy from around the world to:

* Support sustainable economic growth
* Boost employment
* Raise living standards
* Maintain financial stability
* Assist other countries’ economic development
* Contribute to growth in world trade

The Organisation provides a setting where governments compare policy experiences, seek answers to common problems, identify good practice and coordinate domestic and international policies.

Good news for Israel and interesting news, I think, as well, since it was accepted despite the Palestinian efforts to the contrary.

About the author



Leave a Comment